Technology tools…are we too addicted?

As I was running to catch my flight this afternoon I flashed back to the night before thinking about how my Fly Delta app on my iPhone notified me that my upcoming flight would be cancelled.  I dismissed the pop up message that appeared on phone and figured it was a technical glitch.  I even called Delta who confirmed my flight was indeed not cancelled.  As I ran (too overweight to be doing this!) to my gate to catch an earlier flight I couldn’t help but ponder…how much do we rely on technology?  And, should we trust technology more.
As much as I am a technology proponent I believe somewhere in the back of mind, I doubt it every now and again.  I decided to make a list of all of the ways I depend solely on technology and my list frightened me.
  1. Directions
  2. My Calendar
  3. My Contacts
  4. Communication (text, email, tweeting, etc.)
  5. Camera
  6. Camcorder
  7. Notes
  8. Scanner
  9. Check my son’s grades and assignments
  10. and on and on

Some of the most important things in my life are entrusted to technology.  I use an app on my phone or iPad for directions.  I use a calendar program on my phone and computer only…no paper.  All of my contacts are stored on my mobile devices and my computers.  I communicate solely with my phone and computer.  I take the most valuable and precious pictures of my children and other events with my iPhone and/or iPod touch…same with videos. If someone ever crashed the Evernote server I would die (used for notes).  I scan all of my sign in sheets/rosters with an app.  I keep up to date with my son’s assignments and grades via a web app and the list goes on and on.

Wow!  I am a tech addict.  Is this a bad thing?  Let me hear from you friends.
Addictively yours,
The Cre8tiv Mind
Leave a Reply

