dotEPUB — Download any webpage as an e-Book

dotEPUB — download any webpage as an e-book

I am about to scream.  I love my iPad and my iPad (hopefully iPad2 within the next hour) loves me too…but today, the love has grown.  A fellow colleague, Sam Parisi shared with me today the most unbelievable site: dotepub.com.  dotepub allows you to turn any webpage into an .ePub on the iPad! 

WHAT?

I know…let me repeat this: dotepub allows you to turn any webpage into an .ePub on the iPad! Now, if I am student who doesn’t have internet access at home I can simply create an ePub of a website I need to read and then…BOOM, I have access at home.  This really works well for anyone, but great implications in the classroom and beyond.

I really like the fact that we are able to promote literacy even through a webpage.  The Common Core are coming at the rate of speed.  We need to start creating more examples of learning like this!  Students having a digital library of ALL types reading material is just awesome.  We have to THINK OUTSIDE OF THE BOOK (website to follow soon ;)

Students can open the ePub in the iBooks and…

  • Tap and highlight any word and get the word defined for you instantly
  • Highligh words and phrases in different colors
    • Maybe highlight symbolism in pink
    • Highlight compound sentences in blue
  • You can also tap on any word and or phrase and create sticky note.

And people don’t understand the power of mobile!  Elation…after a long hard night, this was just the pick me up I needed.  Oh, and did I mention this is all FREE!

ePubly Yours,

The Cre8tiv Mind

    • Tina Bulleigh
    • March 30th, 2011

    Thanks to Sam, and you both for sharing this (caught it on facebook)! So very useful. I love the anytime, anywhere portion of this. So many of my youth do not have internet access.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

